Ottawa Tulip Festival

 

You can easily tell that I’m a Canadian because in most of my blogs I refer in some way to the weather. Several of my early spring posts commented on how late the tulips were this year because of the never-ending cold winter. But when they did bloom the beds were magnificent. I was out several times to photograph tulips. Also I did some portrait and street photography of the people enjoying the Tulip Festival. These pictures are from the beds at Dow’s Lake in Ottawa. It was a wonderfully warm evening and the crowds were out including many fellow photographers.

 
One good thing about revisiting a venue every year is that you get another chance to improve. In the past I have done a lot of close up or macros of a single tulip. In an earlier blog I posted some images of multiple tulips but I noticed that they were very similar in composition. So this year I wanted to improve upon these compositions and approach this subject from new and different perspectives.

 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

2-photographers-@-Tulip-Festival-series-1-

2-photographers-@-Tulip-Festival-series-2-

2-photographers-@-Tulip-Festival-series-3-

2-photographers-@-Tulip-Festival-series-4-

2-photographers-@-Tulip-Festival-series-5

2-photographers-@-Tulip-Festival-series-6-

2-photographers-@-Tulip-Festival-series-7-

4 thoughts on “Ottawa Tulip Festival

    1. Thanks, glad you like them. Since I started photographing flowers I have so many favourites I couldn’t possibly pick one. It depends on the season spring, summer or fall. I have a very large shade garden and love many of those varieties too. Also we cannot forget the many beautiful wildflowers. Sorry to many to choose 🙂

    1. Thanks for your kind comment. Ottawa is alive with Tulips in the spring which are soon replaced with annuals. With these beds and the ornamental and wildlife gardens on the Experimental Farm, there are always flowers to photograph.

Leave a Reply

