Lemons – Food Photography

 

I have been interested in trying food photography. I love lemons because they are used to make some of my favourite foods like lemon cake, lemon tarte, lemon and cranberry scones, lemon and blueberry muffins, lemon meringue pie and lemonade. In fact, I don’t know of any food made with lemons that I don’t like. I had a large bowl of lemons in my kitchen waiting to be made into my favourite foods so it seemed like a great food to photograph.

When researching food photography, I learned that the first thing you should do is familiarize yourself with outstanding food photos. Understanding what are beautiful food photos is the very first step in improving your food photos.

Below are some food photographers who have been consistently producing great food photos. Their styles are unique:

Matt Armendariz
Penny De Los Santos
Aran Goyoaga
Lara Ferroni
Beatrice Peltre
Helene Dujardin
Teri Campbell
Katie Quinn Davies

Luckily, this list was already compiled in the 1st Day of a series called 30 Days to Better Food Photos . If you are interested in making better photos I highly recommend that you study their photos. I thoroughly enjoyed this exercise and felt that I learned from the experience. I spent today shooting more food photography and yes, there were lemons involved. But I had a better idea of what I wanted to achieve at the end of the day and I hope you will see real improvement in my next post of food photography. So stay tuned…there will be more.

 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

Sunlit-Lemons-series-1-

 

Sunlit-Lemons-series-2-

 

Sunlit-Lemons-series-3-

 

Sunlit-Lemons-series-4-

 

Sunlit-Lemons-series-5-

 

Sunlit-Lemons-series-6-

 

4 thoughts on “Lemons – Food Photography

  1. The lemon shots are great. … I also have corresponded with several of the photographers you mentioned. They were all very nice and helpful. Would love to take a class with any of them. Keep it going… love your photo’s !

Leave a Reply

