A Peek at My Shade Garden

 

There are a number of large trees providing shade to most of our lot. When it rains, like this year, the lawns in my neighbourhood are very green. When the rain stops and we have a dry spell, the lawns turn dry and yellow. Years ago I started with a small garden in the front and back, which has since grown to surround the house. Over a number of years I added good soil and planted mostly perennials. Once established, a garden like mine is not a lot of work. There is some in the spring and fall but the rest of the time its up to you. Some years the people cutting their lawns are working very hard while I watch my garden grow. Other years the lawns look terrible and you can tell who waters and who dosen’t. Many of my neighbours have come to the dark side so there are a lot of gardens on my street now. This is great for me because I don’t have to go very far to find flowers to photograph.

 

Every year I try to capture the Lily of the Valley in bloom. They are one of the first to bloom in the spring. I processed this year’s photo but I will be at it again next year to see if I can do better. With all the rain this year I had plenty of opportunity to photography flowers covered in raindrops. Also included are a couple of the angels currently playing in my garden. They were very dirty after the rain so I cleaned them up a bit in photoshop but otherwise I did not worry about it. I tried to take some pictures of the whole garden but that turned out to be very challenging. So instead you will see individual flowers and small parts of the garden. Here’s a first peek at my shade garden with more to come.

 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

Lily-of-the-Valley-

Small-Angel-in-Front-Garden-

Raindrops-on-Lady's-Mantle-Leaves-

Angel-Sitting-on-Mushroom-

Varigated-Hosta-

2 thoughts on “A Peek at My Shade Garden

Leave a Reply

