Yellow Peony and Fruit

 

These images are a combination of flower, food and still life photography. It started with a peony that I brought in because the rain was pummelling it into the ground. Then I wanted to experiment with food photography but also include the peony. So I was working with the colours green, yellow and red. Hence, the limes, grapes, cherries and lemons. In the first still life I liked the lighting and the colours. After another search of the fridge I added the grapes. I did another simple arrangement then added the peony and more loose fruit. I think I would have liked it better without the loose fruit but for some reason I didn’t take that shot before I changed the still life.

 

These photos were about learning to set up with props and using indoor lighting. I used natural light from a window as well as one light with a diffuser. I was also experimenting with my depth of field (DOF). I read that most food photography is done with a shallow focus between f 3.5 and f 5.6 and most of these are, with the one exception. In the second peony still life everything is in focus because it was shot at f 11. Setting up your props and lighting can be very challenging but also lots of fun.

 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

Peony-and-Fruit-Still-Life-series-1-

 

Peony-and-Fruit-Still-Life-series-2-

 

Peony-and-Fruit-Still-Life-series-3-

 

Peony-and-Fruit-Still-Life-series-5-

 

Peony-and-Fruit-Still-Life-series-4-

 

4 thoughts on “Yellow Peony and Fruit

      1. Happy New Year

        In this new journey that you’re going to undertake, may the heavens bless and light your way, may you reach your goals and dreams this year, a year of triumphs and good cheers. I wish that the New Year be a messenger of peace, smiles, joy and good tidings. I wish your 2014 become much wealthier, healthier and happier and take a step closer to your dream.

Leave a Reply

