National War Memorial (Canada)

 

The National War Memorial stands in Confederation Square, Ottawa. Originally built to commemorate the First World War, in 1982 it was rededicated to include the Second World War and the Korean War. In 2000, the Canadian Tomb of the Unknown Soldier was added to the memorial site and symbolizes the sacrifice made by every Canadian who has died or may yet die for their country.

 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

National-War-Memorial---Ottawa-

6 thoughts on “National War Memorial (Canada)

  1. I really like this photograph for so many reasons, but the main one is the movement from left to right and the right to left. The clouds in the sky move my eye from left to right, then the figures of the statue move my eye from right to left, then the figures strolling along move my eye from right to left. Finally the tilt and sway of the flowers moves my eye from right to left. I don’t know if you planned it this way or not, but it works very well. The clouds on the sky work so well with the figures of the statue. Together the would make a perfectly composed painting. With sky and statue uniting and walkers and flowers uniting, it makes a dramatic juxtaposition. Just so well done!

    1. I definitely did plan some elements of this composition. This is a prominent memorial which I have tried to photograph many times without getting what I wanted. I took this picture while walking downtown with my family. As we walked by Confederation Square I looked to see if there was something there that day to photograph. What I saw was the evening light bursting through the cloud cover to shine directly on the bed of flowers in the foreground. I set up my point of view through the flowers and took the picture. Then I continued to take pictures when people started walking into my frame.

      For me this composition was all about the evening light and how it backlit the walkers. Also the triangle formed between the statue and the walkers. And lastly, the point of view through the flowers. So I’m thrilled with your description of why you think this composition works. Thank-you for your many likes and wonderful comment.

Leave a Reply

