Sunset Walk

 

This image was taken at Dick Bell Park near the Nepean Sailing Club in Ottawa. When I first processed this image I tried to remove the flare. I am not a big fan of flare and try not to have it in my images but sometimes that can be very difficult if not impossible when shooting into the sun. I also had some colour issues and again ended up doing a custom white balance. So in the end the flare stayed in. Don’t forget to click on the image to view it in a larger format.
 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

Sunset-Walk---Dick-Bell-Park---Ottawa-

6 thoughts on “Sunset Walk

  1. I usually try not to have flares either but sometimes they work – and in some cases they are necessary! This one’s just fine 🙂 I like the way you’ve captured the two figures in the path of the sun ….

  2. Is the “flare” that bit of light to the right of the sun? (Sorry, I’m not familiar with that term.) Personally, I think it works okay compositionally. Here’s why: You have a larger area of orange in the sunset and a smaller area of orange in the glass of the street light. Likewise, you have a larger area of bright light in the sun and a smaller area of brightness in the flares to the right of the sun. These are then mirrored in the larger and smaller figures. My eye is looking for larger and smaller pairs throughout the photograph because of that little “flare” that you had wanted to remove. For me, it works!

Leave a Reply

