Sailboat on the Ottawa River

 

Everytime we go to Andrew Haydon Park we walk around the yault club. There was an event on the night I took this picture so there were lots of sailboats out on the river. When we were walking back the sun was setting and there was beautiful colour in the sky. But when it came to processing this image, there were big problems with the colour. Nothing I did could fix what ever had happened so I converted it to black and white and tried a split tone in Lightroom. I finished it in Photoshop, where I cropped the image to put more negative space behind the boat to make this a stronger and more interesting composition. The final step was to curve the image. Something was still not right and then, totally by mistake I tapped the mouse which changed the curve into something that I would never have done on purpose. It broke all the rules and I loved it. Sometimes making a mistake is the best thing you can do. Click on the image to enlarge for better viewing.

 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

Sailboats-2-curved-by-mistake---Andrew-Haydon-Park---processed-2014-1-copy

 

3 thoughts on “Sailboat on the Ottawa River

  1. We learn by our mistakes – and if we’re lucky, by others’!

    Any ideas what went wrong with the colour? Were they ‘off’, washed out, or something else?
    For this kind of thing graduated neutral density filters are pretty essential – either that or HDR/exposure blending.

    1. I seem to make a lot of mistakes and not sure how much I’m learning from that…I haven’t got a clue about the colour, the heron pictures were taken the same evening and they look great. But I must admit that I struggle at sunset and during night photography with what to set my white balance. Do you have any thoughts on that?

      1. I tend to leave my white balance set to daylight to prevent the camera trying to ‘neutralise’ the natural colour. As I always shoot in RAW I’ll occasionally tweak it later, such as ‘Quiet reflection’. Thinking about it, my tweaks are pretty much only when that nasty muddy orange street light glow shows through.
        In terms of setting it on the camera the only times I change the daylight preset are when inside, where I’ll use a grey card, or with my ‘Big Stopper’ where I spent a little while doing some ‘calibration’ to find the right setting.

Leave a Reply

