Hiking Mer Bleue Bog

 

Ā© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

small-toad---Mer-Bleue-Bog---processed-2014-1

 

These images were taken last fall during a hike in Mer Bleue Bog in Ottawa. The toad in the first image is very tiny. In fact I didn’t see him at all with my bad eye sight. My husband had to point him out and even then I had such trouble locating him but then he jumped and I saw the movement. The light was very bad so I had to shoot at a very high ISO and use my flash for fill light.

 

Wild-flower-in-Autumn---Mer-Bleue-Bog---processed-2014-1

 

The wildflowers were lining the path and across the field and behind the pond the reeds and trees were ablaze with autumn colour.

 

Grass-and-Mer-Bleue-Bog-boardwalk---processed-2014

 

The light was very challenging. I was either shooting where it was too dark or into the sun. This bit of boardwalk and grass was illuminated for a very short time. I turned back to see this light and take this picture. On the way back sun had shifted and everything was in shade.

 

Maple-leaves-&-bokeh---Mer-Bleue-Bog---processed-2014

 

It seems like I took this picture of maple leaves a few times last autumn. But I liked the bokeh background and colour of the leaves this time.

 

Milkweed-seeds-bursting-out---Mer-Bleue-Bog---processed-2014

 

This image of the milkweed seeds bursting at the seams was taken on the way back in fading light. So again I shot it at a high ISO and used my flash for fill light. I don’t do that often but my shutter speed was too low to shoot handheld and I think it worked out very well.

 

12 thoughts on “Hiking Mer Bleue Bog

  1. Love the bokeh and light behind those Maple leaves.
    I can’t spot small things either, but I can spot the smallest movement on a still background.
    My left ear is doing deaf, but I can hear the faintest rustle in the undergrowth of a bird moving around.

    Fascinating how our senses adapt (when one of them deteriorates).

Leave a Reply

