Loon @ Lyndhurst Lake

 

© Copyright Beth Walsh Photography. All rights reserved.

 

Loon-@-Lyndhurst-Lake---processed-2014-

 

We like to take daytrips within a 2 hour radius of Ottawa and find water to kayak that has little boat traffic. I have learned to enjoy the outing and not worry about taking pictures. Many times, I strap the camera to the front of my kayak and never take it out. Last summer we had taken a number of trips that I did just that, the wildlife was too far away or took flight or dived before I would have been able to use my camera. Our trip to Lyndhurst Lake was very different. We spotted lots of wildlife.

 

My favorite is always the loons. I love their call and we often hear them on the water and spot them for a moment before they dive and disappear to soon reappear across the lake, some place very far away for us.

 

Loon-3@-Lyndhurst-Lake--processed-2014-

 

That day the return trip was into the sun and it was very bright. I had stopped to take some pictures of a heron that I spotted along the banks of the lake. My son and husband paddle in a canoe and they had gone ahead, again leaving me behind not knowing that I had stopped to photograph something. Two guys in a canoe, on the way home can really make good time. By time I was finished they were no where in sight. So I was paddling hard, blinded by the sun, trying to catch up when I practically paddled over a loon. I was so excited and started to take pictures right away because I thought that he would dive almost immediately. But he didn’t and I tried to drift closer. At first, he was in shade and I can’t remember why he found the only bad light on the lake considering I had just about been blinded by the light and hadn’t seen him. But soon I realized that he wasn’t going to dive and I waited for him to swim into the light, which he did.

 

Loons-2-@-Lyndhurst-Lake---processed-2014-copy

 

13 thoughts on “Loon @ Lyndhurst Lake

  1. You were well rewarded Beth with a perfect moment caught before I guess he took off as quick as a flash ! And I bet your paddle home was at top speed to see what was on your camera 😉

  2. How exciting to be so close.
    The water must have been very still to get such sharp focus on the bird – well done.
    (I keep imagining you paddling and the water sending out ripples).

    1. That is exactly what happens…I am always ruining the reflections. But I see alot more wildlife then I would from shore and yes, it is very exciting when they let me get close. But it is never really close…it’s usually 70 to 300mm lens close. 🙂

Leave a Reply

